Urban Remote Sensing

Monitoring, Synthesis and Modeling in the Urban Environment
 
 
Standards Information Network (Verlag)
  • 2. Auflage
  • |
  • erschienen am 6. Oktober 2021
  • |
  • 528 Seiten
 
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-1-119-62585-8 (ISBN)
 
The second edition of Urban Remote Sensing is a state-of-the-art review of the latest progress in the subject. The text examines how evolving innovations in remote sensing allow to deliver the critical information on cities in a timely and cost-effective way to support various urban management activities and the scientific research on urban morphology, socio-environmental dynamics, and sustainability.

Chapters are written by leading scholars from a variety of disciplines including remote sensing, GIS, geography, urban planning, environmental science, and sustainability science, with case studies predominately drawn from North America and Europe.



A review of the essential and emerging research areas in urban remote sensing including sensors, techniques, and applications, especially some critical issues that are shifting the directions in urban remote sensing research.
Illustrated in full color throughout, including numerous relevant case studies and extensive discussions of important concepts and cutting-edge technologies to enable clearer understanding for non-technical audiences.

Urban Remote Sensing, Second Edition will be of particular interest to upper-division undergraduate and graduate students, researchers and professionals working in the fields of remote sensing, geospatial information, and urban & environmental planning.
2nd Revised edition
  • Englisch
  • Newark
  • |
  • USA
John Wiley & Sons Inc
  • Für höhere Schule und Studium
  • Überarbeitete Ausgabe
  • Reflowable
  • 48,44 MB
978-1-119-62585-8 (9781119625858)

weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
Dr Xiaojun Yang is a tenured Full Professor of Geography in the College of Social Sciences and Public Policy at Florida State University, USA.

CONTENTS



List of Contributors

Author Biographies

Preface



PART I INTRODUCTION

1 Progress in urban remote sensing: An overview

Xiaojun Yang

PART II SENSORS AND SYSTEMS FOR URBAN AREAS

2 Examining urban built-up volume: three-dimensional analyses with lidar and radar data

Adam J. Mathews and Son V. Nghiem

3 Opportunities and challenges of unmanned aircraft systems for urban applications

Feilin Lai, Austin Bush, Xiaojun Yang and David Merrick

4 Methods of social sensing for urban studies

Yu Liu, Song Gao, Yihong Yuan, Fan Zhang, Chaogui Kang, Yuhao Kang and Keli Wang

5 Urban remote sensing using ground-based street view images

Xiaojiang Li

6 Spatial distribution of city tweets and their densities

Bin Jiang, Ding Ma, Junjun Yin and Mats Sandberg

7 Integrating remote sensing and social sensing to examine socioeconomic dynamics: a case study of Twitter and nighttime light imagery

Guofeng Cao and Naizhuo Zhao

PART III ALGORITHMS AND TECHNIQUES FOR URBAN ATTRIBUTE EXTRACTION

8 Deep learning for urban and landscape mapping from remotely sensed imagery

Feilin Lai, Atharva Sharma, Xiuwen Liu and Xiaojun Yang

9 Google Earth Engine advancing urban land change science

Le Wang, Dameng Yin, Jinyan Tian and Ying Lu

10 Use of image endmember libraries for multi-sensor, multi-scale and multi-site mapping of urban areas

Frank Canters, Sam Cooper, Jeroen Degerickx, Uta Heiden, Marianne Jilge, Akpona Okujeni, Frederik Priem, Ben Somers and Sebastian van der Linden

11 Satellite monitoring of urbanization and environmental impacts in Stockholm, Sweden through a multiscale approach

Dorothy Furberg and Yifang Ban



PART IV URBAN SOCIOECONOMIC APPLICATIONS

12 Global monitoring with the Atlas of Urban Expansion

Alejandro Blei and Shlomo Angel

13 Effect of image classification accuracy on dasymetric population estimation

Jacob McKee and Eric Weber

14 Mapping the morphology of urban deprivation: The role of remote sensing for developing a global slum repository

Monika Kuffer, Tais Grippa, Claudio Persello, Hannes Taubenboeck, Karin Pfeffer and Richard Sliuzas

15 The city is the medium and satellite imagery are a prism: conceptualizing urban conflict damage monitoring with multitemporal remote sensing

Jamon Van Den Hoek

PART V URBAN ENVIRONMENTAL APPLICATIONS

16 US cities in the dark: mapping man-made carbon dioxide emissions over the contiguous US using NASA's Black Marble nighttime lights product

Tomohiro Oda, Miguel O. Roman, Zhuosen Wang, Eleanor C. Stokes, Qingsong Sun, Ranjay M. Shrestha, Sha Feng, Thomas Lauvaux, Rostyslav Bun, Shamil Maksyutov, Srija Chakraborty, Ian Paynter and Virginia L. Kalb

17 Thermal infrared imaging of the urban landscape to understand urban microclimate

Jinxin Yang, Massimo Menenti, Man Sing Wong, Zhifeng Wu,Xiaoying Ouyang, Yong Xu and Sawaid Abbas

18 Monitoring air pollution in the urban environment by remote sensing

Alexandra A. Chudnovsky

19 Characterizing after-rain standing waters in urban built environments through a multi-level image analysis

Tzai-Hung Wen, Hao-Yu Liao, Kai-Ling Yang and Tzu-Hsin Karen Chen

20 Remote sensing and urban green infrastructure: a synthesis of current applications and new advances

Yanhua Chen, Giovanni Sanesi, Xun Li, Wendy Y. Chen and Raffaele Lafortezza

21 Remote sensing for urban sustainability research and sustainable development goals: green space, public recreation space, and urban climate

Arthur Lehner and Thomas Blaschke



Index

List of Contributors


Sawaid Abbas
Department of Land Surveying and Geo-Informatics, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Kowloon, Hong Kong
E-mail: s.abbas@polyu.edu.hk

Shlomo Angel
Marron Institute of Urban Management, New York University, New York, NY, USA
E-mail: sangel@stern.nyu.edu

Yifang Ban
Division of Geoinformatics, Department of Urban Planning and Environment
Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
E-mail: yifang@kth.se

Thomas Blaschke
Department of Geoinformatics-Z_GIS, University of Salzburg, Salzburg, Austria
E-mail: thomas.blaschke@sbg.ac.at

Alejandro Blei
Marron Institute of Urban Management, New York University, New York, NY, USA
E-mail: ablei@stern.nyu.edu

Rostyslav Bun
Lviv Polytechnic National University, Lviv, Ukraine WSB
University, Dabrowa Górnicza, Poland
E-mail: Rostyslav.A.Bun@lpnu.ua

Austin Bush
Emergency Management & Homeland Security Program, Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL, USA
E-mail: abush@em.fsu.edu

Frank Canters
Cartography and GIS Research Group, Department of Geography, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussels, Belgium
E-mail: frank.canters@vub.be

Guofeng Cao
Department of Geography, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO, USA
E-mail: guofeng.cao@colorado.edu

Srija Chakraborty
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD, USA
Universities Space Research Association (USRA), Columbia, MD, USA
E-mail: srija.chakraborty@nasa.gov

Tzu-Hsin Karen Chen
Department of Environmental Science, Aarhus University, Roskilde, Denmark
Department of Geosciences and Natural Resource Management (IGN), University of Copenhagen, Denmark
E-mail: thc@envs.au.dk

Wendy Y. Chen
Department of Geography, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR
E-mail: wychen@hku.hk

Yanhua Chen
Department of Geography, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR
E-mail: yhchen19@connect.hku.hk

Alexandra A. Chudnovsky
Department of Geography and Human Environment, Porter School of the Environment and Earth Sciences, Tel-Aviv University, Tel-Aviv, Israel
E-mail: achudnov@tauex.tau.ac.il

Sam Cooper
Department of Geography, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Berlin, Germany
E-mail: sam.cooper@geo.hu-berlin.de

Jeroen Degerickx
Division of Forest, Nature and Landscape, Katholieke Universiteit (KU) Leuven, Leuven, Belgium
E-mail: jeroen.degerickx@vito.be

Sha Feng
Department of Meteorology and Atmospheric Science, Pennsylvania State University, State College, PA, USA
E-mail: sfeng@psu.edu

Dorothy Furberg
Division of Geoinformatics, Department of Urban Planning and Environment, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
E-mail: dorothy.furberg@abe.kth.se

Song Gao
Department of Geography, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI, USA
E-mail: song.gao@wisc.edu

Taïs Grippa
Faculté des Sciences, Service d' ANAlyse GEOspatiale (ANAGEO), Bruxelles, Belgium
E-mail: tgrippa@ulb.ac.be

Uta Heiden
German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD), German Aerospace Center (DLR), Wessling, Germany
E-mail: Uta.Heiden@dlr.de

Bin Jiang
Faculty of Engineering and Sustainable Development, University of Gävle, Gävle, Sweden
E-mail: bin.jiang@hig.se

Marianne Jilge
German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD), German Aerospace Center (DLR), Wessling, Germany
E-mail: marianne.Jilge@dlr.de

Virginia L. Kalb
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD, USA
E-mail: Virginia.L.Kalb@nasa.gov

Chaogui Kang
Department of Geographic Information Engineering, Wuhan University, Wuhan, Hubei, China
Center for Urban Science and Progress, New York University, Brooklyn, NY, USA
E-mail: cgkang@whu.edu.cn

Yuhao KangDepartment of Geography, University ofWisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI, USAE-mail: yuhao.kang@wisc.edu

Monika Kuffer
Department of Urban and Regional Planning and Geo-Information Management, Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation, University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands
E-mail: m.kuffer@utwente.nl

Raffaele Lafortezza
Department of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, University of Bari "Aldo Moro", Bari, Italy
Department of Geography, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SARE-mail: raffaele.lafortezza@uniba.it

Feilin Lai
Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences and Public Policy, Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL, USA
E-mail: flai@fsu.edu

Thomas Lauvaux
Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement, CEA, CNRS, UVSQ/IPSL, Université Paris-Saclay, Orme des Merisiers, Gif-sur-Yvette cedex, France
E-mail: thomas.lauvaux@lsce.ipsl.fr

Arthur Lehner
Department of Geoinformatics-Z_GIS, University of Salzburg, Salzburg, Austria
E-mail: rsresearch.lehner@gmail.com

Xiaojiang Li
Department of Geography and Urban Studies, Temple University, Philadelphia, PA, USA
E-mail: lixiaojiang.gis@gmail.com

Xun Li
Department of Geography, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR
E-mail: 3003456@connect.hku.hk

Hao-Yu Liao
Department of Geography, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
E-mail: anniehaoyu@gmail.com

Xiuwen Liu
Department of Computer Science, Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL, USA
E-mail: liux@cs.fsu.edu

Yu Liu
Institute of Remote Sensing and Geographical Information Systems, School of Earth and Space Sciences, Peking University, Beijing, China
E-mail: liuyu@urban.pku.edu.cn

Ying Lu
Department of Geography, State University of New York at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY, USA
E-mail: ylu26@buffalo.edu

Ding Ma
Research Institute for Smart Cities, School of Architecture and Urban Planning, Shenzhen University, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
E-mail: dingmartin1@gmail.com

Shamil Maksyutov
Satellite Observation Center/Center for Global Environment Research
National Institute for Environmental Studies, Tsukuba, Ibaraki, Japan
E-mail: shamil@nies.go.jp

Adam J. Mathews
Department of Geography, Environment, and Tourism, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, MI, USA
E-mail: adam.mathews@wmich.edu

Jacob McKee
Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN, USA
E-mail: mckeejj@ornl.gov

Massimo Menenti
Faculty of Civil Engineering and Earth Sciences, Delft University of Technology, GA Delft, The Netherlands
State Key Laboratory of Remote Sensing Science, Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
E-mail: m.menenti@tudelft.nl

David Merrick
Emergency Management & Homeland Security Program, Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL, USA
E-mail: dmerrick@em.fsu.edu

Son V. Nghiem
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA, USA
E-mail: Son.V.Nghiem@jpl.nasa.gov

Tomohiro Oda
Universities Space Research Association (USRA), Columbia, MD, USA
Global Modeling and Assimilation Office, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD, USA
Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Science, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA
Graduate School of Engineering, Osaka University, Japan
E-mail: toda@usra.edu

Akpona Okujeni
Department of Geography, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Berlin, Germany
E-mail: akpona.okujeni@geo.hu-berlin.de

Xiaoying Ouyang
State Key Laboratory of Remote Sensing Science, Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
E-mail: ouyangxy@radi.ac.cn

Ian Paynter
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD, USA
Universities Space Research Association (USRA), Columbia, MD, USA
E-mail: ian.paynter@nasa.gov

Claudio Persello
Department of Earth Observation Science, Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation, University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands
E-mail: c.persello@utwente.nl

Karin Pfeffer
Department of Urban and Regional Planning and Geo-Information Management, Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation, University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands
E-mail: k.pfeffer@utwente.nl

Frederik Priem
Cartography and GIS Research Group, Department of Geography, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussels, Belgium
E-mail: frederik.priem@vub.be

Miguel O. Román
Universities Space Research...

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)

Systemvoraussetzungen:

Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.


Download (sofort verfügbar)

117,99 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen