Home Baked

My Mom, Marijuana, and the Stoning of San Francisco
 
 
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (Verlag)
  • erschienen am 20. April 2020
  • |
  • 432 Seiten
 
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-0-358-00707-4 (ISBN)
 
A blazingly funny, heartfelt memoir from the daughter of the larger-than-life woman who ran Sticky Fingers Brownies, an underground bakery that distributed thousands of marijuana brownies per month and helped provide medical marijuana to AIDS patients in San Franciscofor fans of Armistead Maupin and Patricia Lockwood During the 70s in San Francisco, Alias mother ran the underground Sticky Fingers Brownies, delivering upwards of 10,000 illegal marijuana edibles per month throughout the circus-like atmosphere of a city in the throes of major change. She exchanged psychic readings with Alias future father, and thereafter had a partner in business and life. Decades before cannabusiness went mainstream, when marijuana was as illicit as heroin, they ingeniously hid themselves in plain sight, parading through townand through the scenes and upheavals of the day, from Gay Liberation to the tragedy of the Peoples Templein bright and elaborate outfits, the goods wrapped in hand-designed packaging and tucked into Alias stroller. But the stars were not aligned forever and, after leaving the city and a shoulda-seen-it-coming divorce, Alia and her mom returned to San Francisco in the mid-80s, this time using Sticky Fingers distribution channels to provide medical marijuana to friends and former customers now suffering the depredations of AIDS. Exhilarating, laugh-out-loud funny, and heartbreaking, Home Baked celebrates an eccentric and remarkable extended family, taking us through love, loss, and finding home.
  • Englisch
  • Boston
  • |
  • USA
HMH Books
  • 16,67 MB
978-0-358-00707-4 (9780358007074)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
  • Front Cover
  • Front Flap
  • Front Matter
  • Half Title
  • Title
  • Copyright
  • Author's Note
  • Dedication
  • Contents
  • Prologue: On the Barge
  • Part I
  • 1. Eat It, Baby!
  • 2. The Hand
  • 3. If All the World's a Stage
  • 4. September's Song
  • 5. The Touch
  • 6. A Zillion and One Raindrops
  • 7. The Power at Hand
  • Part II
  • 8. Going Round the Bed
  • 9. Kings and Queens
  • 10. Ride That Brownie
  • 11. Child of Life's Long Labor
  • 12. Galen's Batch
  • Part III
  • 13. The Devil's Playground
  • 14. Off My Cloud
  • 15. Paint It Black
  • 16. No Peace
  • 17. Give It Up and You Get It All
  • Part IV
  • 18. The Crossroads of Infinity
  • 19. Mirrors Become You
  • 20. Ella-Vay-Shun
  • 21. The Wheel
  • Back Matter
  • Epilogue: Licking the Spoon
  • Acknowledgments
  • Sources
  • Image Credits
  • Back Flap
  • Back Cover
  • Spine

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)

Systemvoraussetzungen:

Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.


Download (sofort verfügbar)

31,99 €
inkl. 5% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen