The Life and Times of Sherlock Holmes

Essays on Victorian England, Volume Two
 
 
Little Elm Press
  • 1. Auflage
  • |
  • erschienen am 13. Mai 2018
  • |
  • 91 Seiten
 
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-0-9984112-4-8 (ISBN)
 

Fans of Sherlock Holmes, Victorian England, and history in general will all find interesting tidbits to carry away.

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle references many everyday Victorian activities and aspects that are lost on the twenty-first century reader. These short essays provide modern readers a better understanding of Victorian England and greater insight into the world of Sherlock Holmes. His cases take on richer meaning when the reader grasps the subtleties of such details as the blue ribbon mentioned in "The Adventure of the Cardboard Box," the doss houses Shinwell Johnson knew about, or how one contracted brain fever.

Originally published in Sherlockian newsletters across the world, these short essays carry the reader back to London, 1895 and the world of the most famous consulting detective. Topics covered include:

  • Horse racing
  • The Victorian Wedding
  • Boxing
  • The Temperance Movement
  • Fencing
  • London Smog
  • Brain Fever
  • Circuses
  • The Port of Dundee
  • Doss Houses
  • Vampires
  • Bradshaw's Companion
  • Bicycles and the New Woman
  • Clergymen
  • Public Houses
  • Microscopes and Magnifying Glasses
  • Governesses
  • Ciphers and Codes
  • Eton
  • Cambridge and Oxford
  • The Art of Disguise
  • Typewriters
  • Brief History of Tea

Return, once again, to Victorian England and the residents of 221B Baker Street.

"We have…always found [Dr. Sherwood-Fabre's] essays to be both entertaining and informative as well as very well researched."

--Joel Senter, editor The Sherlockian E-Times

1. Auflage
  • Englisch
  • Windows
  • 6,35 MB
978-0-9984112-4-8 (9780998411248)
Award-winning author Liese Sherwood-Fabre knew she was destined to write when she got an A+ in the second grade for her story about Dick, Jane, and Sally's ruined picnic. She has recently turned a childhood interest in Sherlock Holmes into an as-yet unpublished series on Sherlock growing up in a rather unusually gifted family. Her research into Victorian England has led her to share essays with other Sherlockians across the world and to become active in the local Dallas society, the Crew of the Barque Lone Star. Each month, her articles appear in more than a dozen Sherlockian newsletters world-wide. She made the first twenty-four of these essays available in "The Life and Times of Sherlock Holmes, Volume One" and has now gathered the second twenty-four into Volume Two. She is active in several Sherlockian scions and has presented at several events on Victorian and Sherlockian subjects.
  1. Horse racing
  2. The Victorian Wedding
  3. Boxing
  4. The Temperance Movement
  5. Fencing
  6. London Smog
  7. Brain Fever
  8. Turkish Baths
  9. Circuses
  10. The Port of Dundee
  11. Doss Houses
  12. Vampires
  13. Bradshaw's Companion
  14. Bicycles and the New Woman
  15. Clergymen
  16. Public Houses
  17. Microscopes and Magnifying Glasses
  18. Governesses
  19. Ciphers and Codes
  20. Eton
  21. Cambridge and Oxford
  22. The Art of Disguise
  23. Typewriters
  24. Brief History of Tea

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)

Systemvoraussetzungen:

Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.


Download (sofort verfügbar)

2,49 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen