Oxford University Press
  • 1. Auflage
  • |
  • erschienen am 10. Juli 2020
  • |
  • 352 Seiten
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-0-19-093632-7 (ISBN)
Bach has remained a figure of continuous fascination and interest to scholars and readers since the original Master Musicians Bach volume's publication in 1983 - even since its revision in 2000, understanding of Bach and his music's historical and cultural context has shifted substantially. Reflecting new biographical information that has only emerged in recent decades, author David Schulenberg contributes to an ongoing scholarly conversation about Bach with clarity and concision. Bach traces the man's emergence as a startlingly original organist and composer, describing his creative evolution, professional career, and family life from contemporary societal and cultural perspectives in early modern Europe. His experiences as student, music director, and teacher are examined alongside the music he produced in each of these roles, including early compositions for keyboard instruments, the great organ and harpsichord works of later years, vocal music, and other famous instrumental works, including the Brandenburg Concertos. Schulenberg also illuminates how Bach incorporated his contemporary environment into his work: he responded to music by other composers, to his audiences and employment conditions, and to developments in poetry, theology, and even the sciences. The author focuses on Bach's evolution as a composer by ultimately recognizing "Bach's world" in the specific cities, courts, and environments within and for which he composed. Dispensing with biographical minutiae and more closely examining the interplay between his life and his music, Bach presents a unique, grounded, and refreshing new framing of a brilliant composer.
1. Auflage
  • Englisch
14 figures; 44 music ex.
  • 28,45 MB
978-0-19-093632-7 (9780190936327)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
David Schulenberg is Department Chair and Professor of Music at Wagner College. He is the author of The Music of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (2014), Music of the Baroque (OUP, 2013), The Music of Wilhelm Friedemann Bach (2010), The Keyboard Music of J. S. Bach (2006), and numerous articles.
Preface 1. Bach in History: Geography, Society, Culture 2. Early Years (1685-1702): Eisenach, Ohrdruf, Lüneburg, Weimar 3. Bach the Student 4. Arnstadt, Mühlhausen (1703-1708) 5. Bach the Organist: Early Keyboard and Vocal Works 6. Weimar (1708-1717) 7. Bach the Concertmaster: Chorales and Cantatas 8. Cöthen (1717-1723) 9. Bach the Capellmeister: Suites, Serenades, and Related Works 10. Leipzig: First Years (1723-1730) 11. Bach the Music Director: Church and Concert Pieces 12. Leipzig: Later Years (1731-1750) 13. Bach the Teacher: Publications and Pedagogy 14. Legacy Appendices: A. Calendar B. List of Works C. Glossary D. Bibliography

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)


Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.

Download (sofort verfügbar)

23,99 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen