The Poetry of May Sarton Volume Two

A Durable Fire, A Grain of Mustard Seed, and A Private Mythology
Open Road Media (Verlag)
  • erschienen am 20. November 2018
  • |
  • 300 Seiten
E-Book | ePUB mit Wasserzeichen-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-1-5040-5711-0 (ISBN)
Three compelling volumes of poetry from a feminist icon, poet, and author of the groundbreaking novel Mrs. Stevens Hears the Mermaids Singing.

A Durable Fire: This collection borrows its title from Sir Walter Raleigh, who wrote, "Love is a durable fire / In the mind ever burning." It is a fitting sentiment for a collection on solitude, wherein the author finds herself full of emotion even in seclusion. A Durable Fire is a transformative work by a masterful poet.

A Grain of Mustard Seed: In this beautiful collection, Sarton explores dark and destructive femininity. She writes of "Crude power that forges a balance / Between hate and love," finding an amalgam of dark and light within a single act. These graceful and nuanced poems join timeless ideas and specific moments in history.

A Private Mythology: To celebrate her fiftieth birthday, Sarton embarked on a pilgrimage around the world. Traveling through Japan, India, and Greece, she captured her spiritual discoveries in this vivid collection of poetry. Arresting images and meditations on the differences between East and West are rendered in this "colorful, polished" winner of the Emily Clark Balch Prize (Kirkus Reviews).
May Sarton (1912-1995) was born on May 3 in Wondelgem, Belgium, and grew up in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Her first volume of poetry, Encounters in April, was published in 1937 and her first novel, The Single Hound, in 1938. Her novels A Shower of Summer Days, The Birth of a Grandfather, and Faithful Are the Wounds, as well as her poetry collection In Time Like Air, all received nominations for the National Book Award. An accomplished memoirist, Sarton came out as a lesbian in her 1965 book Mrs. Stevens Hears the Mermaids Singing. Her memoir Journal of a Solitude (1973) was an account of her experiences as a female artist. Sarton spent her later years in York, Maine, living and writing by the sea. In her last memoir, Endgame: A Journal of the Seventy-Ninth Year (1992), she shares her own personal thoughts on getting older. Her final poetry collection, Coming into Eighty, was published in 1994. Sarton died on July 16, 1995, in York, Maine.
  • Cover Page
  • Title Page
  • Contents
  • Publisher's Note
  • A Durable Fire
  • Title Page
  • Dedication
  • Epigraph
  • Gestalt at Sixty
  • Part One
  • Myself to Me
  • Dear Solid Earth
  • The Return of Aphrodite
  • Inner Space
  • Things Seen
  • Mozart Again
  • May Walk
  • The Tree Peony
  • A Chinese Landscape
  • The Gifted
  • Reeds and Water
  • Moth in the Schoolroom
  • The Snow Light
  • Warning
  • Surfers
  • All Day I Was with Trees
  • A Storm of Angels
  • The Angels and the Furies
  • The Country of Silence
  • After an Island
  • Fulfillment
  • Part Two
  • Under the leaves an infant love lies dead
  • If I can let you go as trees let go
  • I wake to gentle mist over the meadow
  • I never thought that it could be, not once
  • After a night of rain the brilliant screen
  • As if the house were dying or already dead
  • Twice I have set my heart upon a sharing
  • I ponder it again and know for sure
  • This was our testing year after the first
  • We watched the waterfalls, rich and baroque
  • For steadfast flame wood must be seasoned
  • Part Three
  • February Days
  • Note to a Photographer
  • March in New England
  • The Garden of Childhood
  • Composition
  • Autumn Again
  • Winter Carol
  • Part Four
  • Burial
  • Of Grief
  • Prisoner at a Desk
  • Birthday Present
  • Elegy for Louise Bogan
  • Part Five
  • Christmas Letter, 1970
  • The Fear of Angels
  • The Action of Therapy
  • I Speak of Change
  • Easter, 1971
  • The Contemplation of Wisdom
  • A Grain of Mustard Seed
  • Title Page
  • Dedication
  • Part One
  • Ballad of the Sixties
  • The Rock in the Snowball
  • The Ballad of Ruby
  • The Ballad of Johnny
  • Easter, 1968
  • The Invocation to Kali
  • After The Tiger
  • "We'll to the woods no more"
  • Night Watch
  • Part Two
  • Proteus
  • A Last Word
  • Girl with 'Cello
  • An Intruder
  • The Muse as Medusa
  • A Seventy-fifth Birthday
  • The Great Transparencies
  • Friendship: The Storms
  • Evening Walk in France
  • Dutch Interior
  • A Vision of Holland
  • Part Three
  • Bears and Waterfalls
  • A Parrot
  • Frogs and Photographers
  • Eine Kleine Snailmusik
  • The Fig
  • Hawaiian Palm
  • Part Four
  • A Hard Death
  • The Silence
  • Annunciation
  • At Chartres
  • Once More at Chartres
  • Jonah
  • Easter Morning
  • The Godhead as Lynx
  • The Waves
  • Beyond the Question
  • Invocation
  • Acknowledgments
  • A Private Mythology
  • Title Page
  • Dedication
  • Epigraph
  • The Beautiful Pauses
  • A Private Mythology-I
  • A Child's Japan
  • A Country House
  • Kyoko
  • Japanese Prints
  • Shugaku-in, Imperial Villa
  • A Nobleman's House
  • Inn at Kyoto
  • An Exchange of Gifts
  • The Stone Garden
  • Wood, Paper, Stone
  • The Approach-Calcutta
  • Notes from India
  • The Great Plain of India Seen from the Air
  • In Kashmir
  • The Sleeping God
  • Birthday on the Acropolis
  • Nostalgia for India
  • A Greek Meal
  • On Patmos
  • Another Island
  • At Lindos
  • At Delphi
  • Pastoral
  • Ballads of the Traveler
  • Lazarus
  • A Private Mythology-II
  • Heureux qui, comme Ulysse .
  • Of Havens
  • The House in Winter
  • Still Life in Snowstorm
  • A Fugue of Wings
  • An Observation
  • Learning about Water
  • An Artesian Well
  • A Late Mowing
  • A Country Incident
  • Second Thoughts on the Abstract Gardens of Japan
  • The Animal World
  • A Village Tale
  • The Horse-Pulling
  • Franz, a Goose
  • Lovers at the Zoo
  • The Great Cats and the Bears
  • Turtle
  • Death and the Turtle
  • Elegies and Celebrations
  • Elegy
  • Death of a Psychiatrist
  • Conversation in Black and White
  • The Walled Garden at Clondalkin
  • A Recognition
  • Joy in Provence
  • Baroque Image
  • A Biography of May Sarton
  • Copyright

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Wasserzeichen-DRM (Digital Rights Management)


Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Verwenden Sie eine Lese-Software, die das Dateiformat EPUB verarbeiten kann: z.B. Adobe Digital Editions oder FBReader - beide kostenlos (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Wasserzeichen-DRM wird hier ein "weicher" Kopierschutz verwendet. Daher ist technisch zwar alles möglich - sogar eine unzulässige Weitergabe. Aber an sichtbaren und unsichtbaren Stellen wird der Käufer des E-Books als Wasserzeichen hinterlegt, sodass im Falle eines Missbrauchs die Spur zurückverfolgt werden kann.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.

Download (sofort verfügbar)

32,09 €
inkl. 5% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Wasserzeichen-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen