A Modern Approach to the Birds and the Bees

A Parent's Comprehensive Guide to Talking about Sexuality (For Fans of The 5 Love Languages of Children, Masked Ninja, and 1-2-3 Magic)
 
 
Mango (Verlag)
  • erschienen am 15. September 2020
  • |
  • 145 Seiten
 
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-1-64250-326-5 (ISBN)
 
Unquestionably, parents want their children to be armed with scientifically accurate sexual education. However, many parents also lack the information, tools and skill to be able to engage in these complex conversations with their children in an effective manner. This book aims to educate parents about key issues surrounding sexual health so that they may be better equipped to engage in age-appropriate, evidence-based, informed discussions with their children in order to optimize sexual health and reduce risk behaviors across their childhood development into young adulthood. This book also aims to take a more inclusive approach to sexuality, capturing the unique concerns and questions related to modern sexuality, including: issues related to social media and the internet, topics related to consent and personal safety, unique concerns in the LGBTQ+ community, optimizing safety for those who chose to be sexually active, effectively promoting abstinence, and accessing appropriate healthcare resources and information.
Each chapter will include information about a different sexuality-related topic. Chapters will begin with content aimed at parents including: scientific content basics, general issues related to the topic, key definitions/vocabulary and slang, laws and policies related to the topic, debate, and FAQs. These sections are each written in an accessible format, aimed at parents with little to no background on the topics.
The next section of each chapter will include a summary of what children should know about each topic. This will be based on expert recommendation and evidence-based guidelines. Each chapter will conclude with a discussion of content progression, with guidelines including what children should know at each stage of development.
The particularly unique aspect of the text is that it does not shy away from controversial and sensitive topics, diving into questions that many parents are afraid to ask.
  • Englisch
  • La Vergne
  • |
  • USA
Mango Media
  • 3,04 MB
978-1-64250-326-5 (9781642503265)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt

Dr. Robin Pickering is currently an Associate Professor of Health Sciences specializing in Community Health at Whitworth University in Spokane Washington. Her research interests include women's health, health risk behaviors, and issues surrounding sexuality. She serves as Program Director of the Women and Gender Studies Program at Whitworth University, an advisory board member for the Eastern Washington University Alumni magazine, and a contributor for several local media publications. She has served as the Vice Chair of the Board for the Spokane AIDS Network, Program Director of Community Health at Eastern Washington University (EWU), and steering committee member for the Masters in Public Health degree for EWU.

Robin received her PhD in Education with an emphasis on Health and Psychology, a master's degree in Exercise Science and Pedagogy, and a bachelor's degree in Health Promotion and Wellness. She has also served on the board for Early Head Start, The Spokane Birth Outcome Task Force, and on various other committees committed to promoting community health. Robin has worked as a certified Wellness Coach and currently serves as a Personal Development Consultant specializing in Sexual Assault Prevention for the Spokane Chiefs (a local hockey team).

Contents

Introduction: Young People Need to Know about Sex

1. Sexuality: Keeping It Real about the "Private Parts"

2. Puberty: "What in the World Is Going on Here?"

3. Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity: Respecting and Understanding Differences

4. Consent: The "Affirmative and Enthusiastic" Standard

5. Pornography and Sexting: Talking about the "Tough Stuff"

6. Sex, Virginity, and Sexual Response: The White, Black, and Gray Areas of Sex

7. Making Sex Safer: Staying Safe When Choosing to Be Sexually Active

8. Sexually Transmitted Infections: Facts Not Fear

9. Birth Control: How Do All These Things Work Anyway?

10. Developing Healthy Relationships: Knowing the Difference Between the Good and the Bad

11. Talking to Kids About Sex: The "What's", the "How's", and the "When's"

Resources: "I Want to Know More about Sex!"

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)

Systemvoraussetzungen:

Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.


Download (sofort verfügbar)

13,49 €
inkl. 5% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen