Scarlet Pimpernel Publishing
  • erschienen am 1. Januar 2017
  • |
  • 207 Seiten
978-1-4209-5544-6 (ISBN)
In the late 18th century, France was in the throes of the French Revolution. Of particular tumult during this conflict were the years known as the "Reign of Terror", a time in which a revolutionary tribunal executed thousands of French citizens. It is during the "Reign of Terror" in which Baroness Emmuska Orczy's "The Scarlet Pimpernel" is set. "The Scarlet Pimpernel" is the story of Sir Percy Blakeney, a chivalrous Englishman married to the beautiful French actress, Marguerite St. Just, with whom he pretends to be a slow-witted dandy. However this is but a ruse to hide his true identity as the Scarlet Pimpernel, who with his "League of the Scarlet Pimpernel", a secret society of English aristocrats, rescue French royalists before they can be marched atop the guillotine. Drawing his nickname from the small red flower he draws on his messages, the Scarlet Pimpernel is chased by the relentless French agent Citizen Armand Chauvelin as he tries to intervene in the madness of the "Reign of Terror". First published in 1905, "The Scarlet Pimpernel" is notable for its introduction to literature of a hero with a secret identity. This edition includes a biographical afterword.
  • Englisch
  • La Vergne
  • |
  • USA
Neeland Media LLC
978-1-4209-5544-6 (9781420955446)
1420955446 (1420955446)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
  • Intro
  • Chapter I. Paris: September, 1792.
  • Chapter II. Dover: "The Fisherman's Rest".
  • Chapter III. The Refugees.
  • Chapter IV. The League of the Scarlet Pimpernel.
  • Chapter V. Marguerite.
  • Chapter VI. An Exquisite of '92.
  • Chapter VII. The Secret Orchard.
  • Chapter VIII. The Accredited Agent.
  • Chapter IX. The Outrage.
  • Chapter X. In the Opera Box.
  • Chapter XI. Lord Grenville's Ball.
  • Chapter XII. The Scrap of Paper.
  • Chapter XIII. Either-Or?
  • Chapter XIV. One O'clock Precisely!
  • Chapter XV. Doubt.
  • Chapter XVI. Richmond.
  • Chapter XVII. Farewell.
  • Chapter XVIII. The Mysterious Device.
  • Chapter XIX. The Scarlet Pimpernel.
  • Chapter XX. The Friend.
  • Chapter XXI. Suspense.
  • Chapter XXII. Calais.
  • Chapter XXIII. Hope.
  • Chapter XXIV. The Death-Trap.
  • Chapter XXV. The Eagle and the Fox.
  • Chapter XXVI. The Jew.
  • Chapter XXVII. On the Track.
  • Chapter XXVIII. The Père Blanchard's Hut.
  • Chapter XXIX. Trapped.
  • Chapter XXX. The Schooner.
  • Chapter XXXI. The Escape.
  • Biographical Afterword
Schweitzer Klassifikation
BISAC Classifikation

Download (sofort verfügbar)

Unsere Web-Seiten verwenden Cookies. Mit der Nutzung dieser Web-Seiten erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen finden Sie in unserem Datenschutzhinweis. Ok