Standing Our Ground

The Triumph of Faith Over Gun Violence: A Mother's Story
Atria / 37 Ink (Verlag)
  • erschienen am 11. September 2018
  • |
  • 256 Seiten
978-1-5011-8780-3 (ISBN)
From the national spokesperson for Everytown for Gun Safety and leading gun violence prevention advocate comes the riveting memoir of a mother's loss and call to action, as well as a faith-based exploration of how the nation's gun laws put a deadly target on American lives.

Lucia Kay McBath knew deep down that a bullet could one day take her son. After all, she had watched the news of countless unarmed black men unjustly gunned down.

Standing Our Ground: Putting Faith in God Over Faith in Guns is McBath's memoir of raising, loving, and losing her son to gun violence, and the story of how she transformed her pain into activism. After seventeen-year-old Jordan Davis was shot by a man who thought the music playing on his car stereo was too loud, the nation grieved yet again for the unnecessary loss of life. Here, McBath goes beyond the timeline and the assailant's defense—Stand Your Ground—to present an emotional account of her fervent fight for justice, and her awakening to a cause that will drive the rest of her days.

But more than McBath's story or that of her son, Standing Our Ground keenly observes the social and political evolution of America's gun culture. A must-read for anyone concerned with gun safety in America, it harkens back to such bestsellers as The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace and Nobody.
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
Lucia Kay McBath with Rosemarie Robotham
  • Intro
  • Dedication
  • Epigraph
  • Introduction: In Guns We Trust
  • Part One: The Promise
  • Chapter 1: Black Friday
  • Chapter 2: Civil Rights Baby
  • Chapter 3: Stones from the River
  • Chapter 4: Caregiver
  • Chapter 5: Paper Boat
  • Chapter 6: Finding Faith
  • Chapter 7: Love Again
  • Part Two: Loud Music
  • Chapter 8: Fast Traps
  • Chapter 9: A Hard Choice
  • Chapter 10: Premonition
  • Chapter 11: Ten Bullets
  • Chapter 12: The Right to Exist
  • Chapter 13: A Wider Lens
  • Chapter 14: Every Mom
  • Part Three: Awakening
  • Chapter 15: A Long-Held Secret
  • Chapter 16: The Color of Justice
  • Chapter 17: A Jury of His Peers
  • Chapter 18: God, the Protector
  • Chapter 19: Hope Dealers
  • Chapter 20: Say Their Names
  • Epilogue: The Letter
  • Appendix: Get Involved
  • Acknowledgments
  • About the Authors
  • Notes
  • Copyright

Download (sofort verfügbar)