Brahms's Violin Sonatas

Style, Structure, Performance
Oxford University Press
  • erschienen am 21. August 2020
  • |
  • 352 Seiten
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-0-19-008706-7 (ISBN)
Notation in Johannes Brahms's sonata scores tells violinists and pianists far more than merely what pitches to play and how long to play them--if read carefully, these scores reveal an immense amount of expression, both of musical and human essences. Joel Lester's Brahms's Violin Sonatas magnifies key passages from these scores, revealing in clear and accessible language how the composer built his themes and musical narratives and how, ultimately, Brahms's music came to sound Brahmsian. Through close readings and annotated musical examples, Brahms's Violin Sonatas guides practitioners to read scores with care and to develop their own informed interpretation of the pieces, eschewing the notion of a single "correct" interpretation of the historical score. By exploring not only the sonatas' musical elements, but also their relationship to important events in the composer's life, Lester shows how subtle components can communicate the gestures, moods, personalities, and emotions that make Brahms's music so compelling. A companion volume to the author's award-winning 1999 study Bach's Works for Solo Violin: Style, Structure, and Performance (OUP), Brahms's Violin Sonatas is a clear and practical guide to understanding and performing Brahms's music in the present.
  • Englisch
276 music examples; 1 figure
  • 19,79 MB
978-0-19-008706-7 (9780190087067)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
Joel Lester is Professor Emeritus at the CUNY Graduate Center and The City College of New York. A scholar, violinist, and administrator, he was also Dean of Mannes College of Music from 1996 until 2011. He is the author of Bach's Solo Works for Solo Violin (OUP, 1999), Compositional Theory in the Eighteenth Century, and Analytic Approaches to 20th-Century Music.
Acknowledgements Preface: Brahms, Musical Scores, Musical Meaning, Musical Expression Part I: Brahms's Notes Chapter 1: It Sounds like Brahms Chapter 2: Shaping Brahmsian Themes Part II: Brahms's Musical Narratives Chapter 3: First-movement Sonata Forms Chapter 4: The Middle Movements Chapter 5: The Finales Chapter 6: Brahms and the Violin: The Early Violin Sonatas List of Works Cited Index

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)


Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.

Download (sofort verfügbar)

23,99 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen