George Szell's Reign

Behind the Scenes with the Cleveland Orchestra
University of Illinois Press
  • 1. Auflage
  • |
  • erschienen am 11. Oktober 2017
  • |
  • 256 Seiten
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-0-252-09991-5 (ISBN)
George Szell was the Cleveland Orchestra's towering presence for over a quarter of a century. From the boardroom to the stage, Szell's powerful personality affected every aspect of a musical institution he reshaped in his own perfectionist image. Marcia Hansen Kraus's participation in Cleveland's classical musical scene allowed her an intimate view of Szell and his achievements. As a musician herself, and married to an oboist who worked under Szell, Kraus pulls back the curtain on this storied era through fascinating interviews with orchestra musicians and patrons. Their recollections combine with Kraus's own to paint a portrait of a multifaceted individual who both earned and transcended his tyrannical reputation. If some musicians hated Szell, others loved him or at the least respected his fair-minded toughness. A great many remember playing under his difficult leadership as the high point in their lives. Filled with vivid backstage stories, George Szell's Reign reveals the human side of a great orchestra &quote,and how one visionary built a premier classical music institution.
  • Englisch
  • Champaign
  • |
  • USA
978-0-252-09991-5 (9780252099915)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
  • Intro
  • Title Page
  • Copyright Page
  • Dedication Page
  • Contents
  • Introduction
  • Chapter 1. A Prodigy's Apprenticeship
  • Chapter 2. The Orchestra's Beginnings
  • Chapter 3. Szell's Improvements
  • Chapter 4. The Woodwind Section
  • Chapter 5. World Tour
  • Chapter 6. Szell's Dictates
  • Chapter 7. The String Section
  • Chapter 8. The Brass Section
  • Chapter 9. Auditions and Mavericks
  • Chapter 10. Conductor Wannabes
  • Chapter 11. The Percussion Section
  • Chapter 12. Szell's Methods, Touring Travails
  • Chapter 13. Prodigies, Masterpieces, Boulez
  • Chapter 14. Concert Experiences
  • Chapter 15. Szell's Haydn and Schumann Interpretations
  • Chapter 16. Attire, Duty, Respect, Decorum
  • Chapter 17. A New Chorus Conductor
  • Chapter 18. The Musicians' Insurrection
  • Chapter 19. Picketing and Resolution
  • Chapter 20. A Suitable Summer Site
  • Chapter 21. Blossom's Creators
  • Chapter 22. The Blossom Triumph
  • Chapter 23. The Death of the Maestro
  • Epilogue
  • Acknowledgments
  • Notes
  • Bibliography
  • Index of Names
  • Illustrations

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)


Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.

Download (sofort verfügbar)

43,20 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen