The Gypsy Bride

An emotional cross-cultural family saga
 
 
Zaffre (Verlag)
  • erschienen am 14. Mai 2020
  • |
  • 512 Seiten
 
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-1-83877-026-6 (ISBN)
 
A moving and tragic cross-cultural love story for readers of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale.

Oxfordshire, 1917

Ellen is growing up in the Oxfordshire countryside. The granddaughter of a Methodist preacher and intending to marry Charlie, a boy from the local village, Ellen's life is mapped out for her.

When Charlie is killed on the battlefields of the First World War, Ellen is left heart-broken and lost. But then she meets Sam Loveridge. Mysterious and unruly, Sam is from a local Gypsy community, and unlike anyone Ellen has ever met before. Before she knows what's hit her, Ellen is swept off her feet and shown a world of passion, excitement - and true love.

But the conservative world that Ellen is from can't possibly understand or approve of their relationship, and Ellen and Sam are torn apart. Is their love strong enough overcome their cultural distances, or will the hostility and prejudice they face destroy their chance at happiness?

The Gypsy Bride is a dramatic new saga for readers of A Village Scandal.

- - - - -

'The history is meticulous and fascinating and the character of Sam Loveridge is absolutely captivating - I can still hear his voice perfectly, months after finishing.' Julie Cohen, bestselling author of The Two Lives of Louis and Louise

'A family saga that had me hooked from the first page.' Lynn Johnson, author of The Girl from the Workhouse

'A richly evoked, completely involving story of love, loss and redemption. So satisfying.' Elizabeth Woodcraft, author of The Saturday Girls and The Girls from Greenway

'Katie Hutton transports you to a forgotten England in this poignant story of star-crossed lovers. A triumph!' Catherine Kullman, author of The Gracechurch Trilogy

'A moving love story, brilliantly depicting the dynamic between settled communities and gypsies.' Patricia O'Reilly, author of The First Rose of Tralee

'An enthralling and well-researched saga.' Lancashire Evening Post

'The characters and storyline were fantastic.' Netgalley reviewer

'A powerful saga full of tragedy and such sadness.' Netgalley reviewer
  • Englisch
  • London
  • |
  • Großbritannien
Faber & Faber
  • Digitale Ausgabe
  • 1,38 MB
978-1-83877-026-6 (9781838770266)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
Katie Hutton
  • Intro
  • Title Page
  • Contents
  • Dedication
  • Part One
  • Chapter 1
  • Chapter 2
  • Chapter 3
  • Chapter 4
  • Chapter 5
  • Chapter 6
  • Chapter 7
  • Chapter 8
  • Chapter 9
  • Chapter 10
  • Chapter 11
  • Chapter 12
  • Chapter 13
  • Chapter 14
  • Chapter 15
  • Chapter 16
  • Chapter 17
  • Part Two
  • Chapter 18
  • Chapter 19
  • Chapter 20
  • Chapter 21
  • Chapter 22
  • Chapter 23
  • Chapter 24
  • Chapter 25
  • Chapter 26
  • Chapter 27
  • Chapter 28
  • Chapter 29
  • Chapter 30
  • Chapter 31
  • Chapter 32
  • Chapter 33
  • Chapter 34
  • Historical Background
  • Selected Bibliography
  • Acknowledgements
  • About the Author
  • Welcome to the world of Katie Hutton!
  • A Letter from the Author
  • A Recipe for Spiced Crab Apples
  • Memory Lane Club
  • Tales from Memory Lane
  • Copyright

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)

Systemvoraussetzungen:

Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.


Download (sofort verfügbar)

6,99 €
inkl. 5% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen