Dear Isaac Newton, You're Ruining My Life

Sky Pony Press
  • erschienen am 20. März 2018
  • |
  • 304 Seiten
978-1-5107-2528-7 (ISBN)
As if seventh grade isn't hard enough, Truth Trendon learns she has to wear a back brace to help her worsening scoliosis. She decides gravity is to blame for curving her spine and ruining her life. Thanks for nothing, Isaac Newton!
Truth's brace is hard plastic, tight, and uncomfortable. She has to wear a t-shirt under it and bulky clothes over it, making her feel both sweaty and unfashionable. She's terrified that her classmates are going to find out about it.
But it's hard keeping it a secret (especially when gym class is involved), and secrets quickly turn into lies. When Truth's crush entrusts her with a big secret of his own, it leads to even more lying. Add to that a fight with her best friend, a looming school-wide presentation, and mean rumors, and it's a recipe for disaster.
As Truth navigates the ups and downs of middle school, can she learn to accept her true self, curvy spine and all?
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
Rachel Hruza has always loved everything related to books. She received an MA in Creative Writing from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and her short stories have been published in Scintilla, Crossed Out Magazine, and ScissorTale Review. Dear Isaac Newton, You're Ruining My Life is her first novel, and was inspired by her own experience: Rachel was diagnosed with scoliosis at age eleven, she and her twin sister wore back braces through all of junior high, and Rachel had corrective surgery while in college. Rachel hails from the middle of the United States, where she teaches English at the local college, plays piano and guitar, and spends much of her spare time with her husband and their snaggle-toothed peekapoo.
  • Intro
  • Title Page
  • Copyright
  • Dedication
  • Chapter 1: Gravitational Pull
  • Chapter 2: Braced
  • Chapter 3: The First Day of the Rest of My Life
  • Chapter 4: The Visitor
  • Chapter 5: The Discovery (Part 1)
  • Chapter 6: BFF Duty
  • Chapter 7: Something Fishy
  • Chapter 8: The Discovery (Part 2)
  • Chapter 9: A Brief Lesson
  • Chapter 10: Rollin' in the Blues
  • Chapter 11: A Biting Accident
  • Chapter 12: Losers and Winners
  • Chapter 13: Double Date
  • Chapter 14: The Kiss of Death
  • Chapter 15: The Discovery (Part 3)
  • Chapter 16: A Rock in the Midst of Diamonds
  • Chapter 17: From the Mouths of Toads
  • Chapter 18: The Final Discovery
  • Epilogue: Happily Ever After (For Now)
  • Acknowledgments
  • About the Author

Download (sofort verfügbar)