Scarlet Letter (Illustrated by Hugh Thomson with an Introduction by Katharine Lee Bates) Publishing
  • erschienen am 17. November 2015
  • |
  • 204 Seiten
978-1-4209-5183-7 (ISBN)
First published in 1850, "The Scarlet Letter" is the work that would establish Nathaniel Hawthorne's literary legacy. It is the story of Hester Prynne, a young attractive woman who has been convicted of the crime of adultery and has been sentenced to wear a scarlet letter "A" sewn to her dress. As the result of the affair, Hester has a child named Pearl and because the man with whom she has committed this act refuses to come forward she finds herself having to raise the child alone. The novel, which is set in middle 17th century Boston, is a vivid picture of the archaic social beliefs and customs that were indicative of early colonial American life. It is a time in which adultery was not only considered immoral but was a crime and extreme puritanical beliefs ruled everyday life. Hawthorne's narrative is an exploration of the nature of sin, guilt, and the way in which society tries to police morality through the rule of law. A haunting portrait of days long past, "The Scarlet Letter" is a brilliant portrayal of life in Puritanical America. This edition is illustrated by Hugh Thomson, includes an introduction by Katharine Lee Bates, and a biographical afterword.
  • Englisch
  • Stilwell
  • |
  • USA
Neeland Media LLC
978-1-4209-5183-7 (9781420951837)
1420951831 (1420951831)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
  • Intro
  • Introduction
  • Editor's Note
  • The Custom-House. Introductory to "The Scarlet Letter"
  • I. The Prison Door
  • II. The Market-Place
  • III. The Recognition
  • IV. The Interview
  • V. Hester at Her Needle
  • VI. Pearl
  • VII. The Governor's Hall
  • VIII. The Elf-Child and the Minister
  • IX. The Leech
  • X. The Leech and His Patient
  • XI. The Interior of a Heart
  • XII. The Minister's Vigil
  • XIII. Another View of Hester
  • XIV. Hester and the Physician
  • XV. Hester and Pearl
  • XVI. A Forest Walk
  • XVII. The Pastor and His Parishioner
  • XVIII. A Flood of Sunshine
  • XIX. The Child at the Brookside
  • XX. The Minister in a Maze
  • XXI. The New England Holiday
  • XXII. The Procession
  • XXIII. The Revelation of the Scarlet Letter
  • XXIV. Conclusion
Schweitzer Klassifikation
BISAC Classifikation

Download (sofort verfügbar)

Unsere Web-Seiten verwenden Cookies. Mit der Nutzung dieser Web-Seiten erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen finden Sie in unserem Datenschutzhinweis. Ok