House of the Seven Gables (with an Introduction by George Parsons Lathrop) Publishing
  • erschienen am 20. September 2017
  • |
  • 194 Seiten
978-1-4209-5604-7 (ISBN)
First published in 1851, "The House of the Seven Gables" is Nathaniel Hawthorne's gothic novel which follows the fates of a New England family and their ancestral home. Inspired by a house in Salem Massachusetts which had belonged to the ancestors of Nathaniel Hawthorne who had played a part in the Salem Witch Trials, "The House of the Seven Gables" is the story of Hepzibah Pyncheon and her brother Clifford who has recently been released from prison after serving a thirty-three year sentence for murder. According to legend the mansion, which is built upon land acquired through unscrupulous circumstances by Hepzibah and Clifford's ancestor Colonel Pyncheon, carries with it a curse on the Pyncheons, following the family through the many generations that inherit it. Hawthorne brilliantly uses this curse to create a gloomy forbidding atmosphere around the Pyncheons and the house that they inhabit. As the novel draws to its conclusion the reader is filled with the suspenseful question as to whether or not Hepzibah and Clifford will be the final victims of the curse or if it is all just a silly superstition. This edition includes an introduction by George Parsons Lathrop and a biographical afterword.
  • Englisch
  • La Vergne
  • |
  • USA
Neeland Media LLC
978-1-4209-5604-7 (9781420956047)
1420956043 (1420956043)
  • Intro
  • Introduction
  • Preface
  • I. The Old Pyncheon Family
  • II. The Little Shopwindow
  • III. The First Customer
  • IV. A Day Behind the Counter
  • V. May and November
  • VI. Maule's Well
  • VII. The Guest
  • VIII. The Pyncheon of Today
  • IX. Clifford and Phoebe
  • X. The Pyncheon Garden
  • XI. The Arched Window
  • XII. The Daguerreotypist
  • XIII. Alice Pyncheon
  • XIV. Phoebe's Goodbye
  • XV. The Scowl and Smile
  • XVI. Clifford's Chamber
  • XVII. The Flight of Two Owls
  • XVIII. Governor Pyncheon
  • XIX. Alice's Posies
  • XX. The Flower of Eden
  • XXI. The Departure
  • Biographical Afterword
Schweitzer Klassifikation
BISAC Classifikation

Download (sofort verfügbar)

Unsere Web-Seiten verwenden Cookies. Mit der Nutzung dieser Web-Seiten erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen finden Sie in unserem Datenschutzhinweis. Ok