Beethoven's Symphonies

Nine Approaches to Art and Ideas
University of Chicago Press
  • 1. Auflage
  • |
  • erschienen am 1. Mai 2017
  • |
  • 192 Seiten
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-0-226-45391-0 (ISBN)
In the years spanning from 1800 to 1824, Ludwig van Beethoven completed nine symphonies, now considered among the greatest masterpieces of Western music. Yet despite the fact that this time period, located in the wake of the Enlightenment and at the peak of romanticism, was one of rich intellectual exploration and social change, the influence of such threads of thought on Beethoven's work has until now remained hidden beneath the surface of the notes. Beethoven's Symphonies presents a fresh look at the great composer's approach and the ideas that moved him, offering a lively account of the major themes unifying his radically diverse output.Martin Geck opens the book with an enthralling series of cultural, political, and musical motifs that run throughout the symphonies. A leading theme is Beethoven's intense intellectual and emotional engagement with the figure of Napoleon, an engagement that survived even Beethoven's disappointment with Napoleon's decision to be crowned emperor in 1804. Geck also delves into the unique ways in which Beethoven approached beginnings and finales in his symphonies, as well as his innovative use of particular instruments. He then turns to the individual symphonies, tracing elements-a pitch, a chord, a musical theme-that offer a new way of thinking about each work and will make even the most devoted fans of Beethoven admire the symphonies anew.Offering refreshingly inventive readings of the work of one of history's greatest composers, this book shapes a fascinating picture of the symphonies as a cohesive oeuvre and of Beethoven as a master symphonist.
  • Englisch
  • Chicago, IL
  • |
  • USA
978-0-226-45391-0 (9780226453910)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
  • Intro
  • Contents
  • Beethoven: Symphonist par Excellence
  • Napoleon Bonaparte
  • Orchestral Weight
  • Delusions of Virility
  • Structure
  • Jean Paul's "Cloven Hoof "
  • Nine Symphonies
  • Prolegomenon
  • On Idle Speculations
  • From Portentous Prologues to Ebullient Finales
  • On Elemental Beginnings
  • On Archetypal Images
  • On Memorable Fugato Passages
  • On Striking Dissonances
  • On "False" Entries
  • On the Escapades of the Timpani
  • On Highly Expressive Foreshortenings
  • On Beethoven's Fondness for the Eroica
  • On Crossing a Threshold
  • The Symphonies
  • Symphony No. 1 in C Major, Op. 21
  • Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 36
  • Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, Op. 55 (Eroica)
  • Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Op. 60
  • Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67
  • Symphony No. 6 in F Major, Op. 68 (Pastoral)
  • Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92
  • Symphony No. 8 in F Major, Op. 93
  • Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, Op. 125
  • Notes
  • Bibliography
  • Index

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)


Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.

Download (sofort verfügbar)

20,89 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen