What Planet

Bloodaxe Books (Verlag)
  • erschienen am 23. Mai 2019
  • |
  • 59 Seiten
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-1-78037-485-7 (ISBN)
The poems in Miriam Gamble's third collection journey surreally through scenes and landscapes at once of the world and of the mind, finding little, as they go, that 'can be claimed self-evident'. By turns uncanny, dark, poignant and uproarious, What Planet sets the individuality of perception and the inventiveness of memory against fixed certainties, probing chaos and madness in a post-truth world. Rhythmically propulsive and dizzyingly inter-connective, Gamble's new work is as formally adventurous as it is conceptually distinctive, stretching syntax, jumbling the solid and spectral, crossing borders of time and space. Yet this is also a collection pained by loss, and passionate to connect with a life's 'vacated' corners - even if the act of remembering is as much creation as recovery.
  • Englisch
  • La Vergne
  • |
  • USA
  • 420,93 MB
978-1-78037-485-7 (9781780374857)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
Miriam Gamble was born in Brussels in 1980 and grew up in Belfast. She studied at Oxford and at Queen's University Belfast, where she completed a PhD in contemporary British and Irish poetry. She won an Eric Gregory Award in 2007, and the Ireland Chair of Poetry Bursary Award in 2010. Her pamphlet, This Man's Town, was published by tall-lighthouse in 2007. Her first book-length collection, The Squirrels Are Dead, was published by Bloodaxe Books in 2010 and won her a Somerset Maugham Award in 2011. Her second collection, Pirate Music, was published by Bloodaxe in 2014, and her third, What Planet, was published by Bloodaxe in 2019. She lectures in creative writing at Edinburgh University.
  • Intro
  • Description
  • Title Page
  • Dedication
  • Epigraph
  • Acknowledgements
  • Contents
  • The Landing Window Is Unspeakable
  • The Oak That Was Not There
  • Time Ball
  • Odradek Returns
  • Wonderland
  • Amethyst
  • Coda
  • Feria de Málaga
  • Leòdhasach
  • The Holy Host in Spanish Art
  • Gutties
  • Alchemist
  • Betty Staff's
  • Feldspar
  • Incident Report
  • The Wits
  • Oils of Sculptors Working
  • Crane Fly
  • Parotia Displaying in a Forest Clearing
  • Plume
  • Girl with Book and Rubber Bands
  • Bloater
  • Enkidu's Worm
  • Mare at Large
  • Credentials
  • Siete Lagunas
  • Kitten
  • Marine Snow
  • The Canal at Fountainbridge
  • Gardyloo
  • Little Monument: Se Vende
  • In Memoriam Your Stuff
  • Urn
  • Handwriting
  • Wormhole, Westlink
  • In the Annum
  • Abandoned Asylum
  • Sometimes Nothing
  • Winter Sunday
  • Holograph
  • Person
  • In the Recliner
  • Madeleine
  • IndyRef, 2014
  • Samhain
  • Moths
  • About the Author
  • Copyright

Dateiformat: EPUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)


Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat EPUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.

Download (sofort verfügbar)

9,49 €
inkl. 19% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
E-Book bestellen