The Advocate's Daughter

A suspenseful legal thriller with a shock ending
 
 
Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book (Verlag)
  • erschienen am 10. Juni 2021
  • |
  • 384 Seiten
 
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-1-80024-534-1 (ISBN)
 

'SMART, SOPHISTICATED, SUSPENSEFUL, AND WRITTEN WITH REAL INSIDER AUTHENTICITY. A WINNER' LEE CHILD

It's not who you know, it's what you know about them . . .

Among Washington D.C. power players, everyone has something to hide, including Sean Serrat, a Supreme Court lawyer. Sean transformed his misspent youth into a model adulthood, and now has one of the most respected legal careers in the country. But just as he learns he's on the short list to be nominated to the U.S. Supreme Court, his daughter, Abby, a talented and dedicated law student, goes missing.

When Abby's lifeless body is discovered shoved into a shelf at the Supreme Court Library, Sean is wracked with grief. Does her murder have anything to do with the secret he's been keeping for years? He follows the footsteps of his daughter's last days and stumbles over secrets within his own family - as well as the lies of some of the most powerful people in the country. People who will stop at nothing to prevent Sean from exposing the truth . . .

Praise for The Advocate's Daughter:

'Keeps twisting and turning right up until its shock of an ending. Long-buried secrets and shadowy agendas murderously collide - smack in the middle of a heated Supreme Court nomination clash [...] Read and marvel' GREGG HURWITZ

'The tension starts on the very first page, and keeps ratcheting up. Once it grabs you it won't let go' JOSEPH FINDER

'A brilliant thriller that's smart, well-written, and heart-stopping' LINDA FAIRSTEIN

'A taut and twisting thriller ... It crackles with authenticity and moves with an irresistible momentum' LISA UNGER

'A smart, suspenseful thriller filled with insider knowledge of the Supreme Court, D.C. politics, and collisions between the two. It's also an absorbing story about families and the sacrifices we make for the people we love' ALAFAIR BURKE

'Fast paced, sharply plotted ... A blast!' ROBERT DUGONI

'Engaging and riveting ... This no-holds-barred potboiler shines a light on Washington's halls of power only to reveal the darkness lurking within them' PROVIDENCE JOURNAL

'The 'best of the best' when it comes to suspense' SUSPENSE MAGAZINE

'A taut, twisting thriller' HUFFINGTON POST

'This fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Brad Meltzer, Joseph Finder, and Scott Turow' BOOKLIST

'Rich and fine in plot background with a flowing narrative style - this is fiction rooted in reality ... Highly recommended' NEW MYSTERY READER MAGAZINE

'Judicial fiction at its finest' FOR THE LOVE OF BOOKS.COM

'A riveting legal thriller that will keep you turning pages until the breathtaking end' ABOVE THE LAW

'Tautly written and expertly put together, if there is one crime thriller you want to add to your collection, then let this be it' CRIMINAL ELEMENT

What Amazon reviewers are saying:

'Nobody does it better [...] than Franze. He's perfectly suited to tell this story, himself a starred Supreme Court advocate. And he tells it so well, smoothly slipping in and blending day-to-day Supreme Court realisms with a highly suspenseful tale' ¿¿¿¿¿

'Best leisure read of my life. Real. Intoxicating. Impactful. Superior. Franze's latest offering is fueled by uncommonly salacious access to many elements of the world's highest and most exclusive secret society' ¿¿¿¿¿

'A tremendously enjoyable read. Finished in just a couple days - actually a couple very late nights. If you enjoy fast paced thrillers, then you will not be disappointed' ¿¿¿¿¿

'Franze does a great job drawing in the reader, and rewards them with deep characters and constant action. Definitely recommended!' ¿¿¿¿¿

'Great characters, tight narrative, and interesting insider facts about the Supreme Court. And non-stop action. The whole thing is really clever. Plus, a great twist at the end that I did not see coming' ¿¿¿¿¿

weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
Alex Finlay is the pseudonym of Anthony Franze, an author who lives in Washington D.C. As Alex Finlay, he writes gripping psychological thrillers such as Every Last Fear. As Anthony Franze, he writes compelling legal thrillers including The Advocate's Daughter, The Outsider and The Last Justice. He's garnered national praise for his work as a lawyer in the Appellate and Supreme Court practice of a prominent Washington, D.C. law firm and he has been a commentator on high-court issues for The New Republic, Bloomberg, and National Law Journal.
  • Intro
  • Also by Alex Finlay
  • Welcome Page
  • Copyright
  • Dedication
  • Contents
  • A Note on the Text
  • Prologue
  • Chapter 1
  • Chapter 2
  • Chapter 3
  • Chapter 4
  • Chapter 5
  • Chapter 6
  • Chapter 7
  • Chapter 8
  • Chapter 9
  • Chapter 10
  • Chapter 11
  • Chapter 12
  • Chapter 13
  • Chapter 14
  • Chapter 15
  • Chapter 16
  • Chapter 17
  • Chapter 18
  • Chapter 19
  • Chapter 20
  • Chapter 21
  • Chapter 22
  • Chapter 23
  • Chapter 24
  • Chapter 25
  • Chapter 26
  • Chapter 27
  • Chapter 28
  • Chapter 29
  • Chapter 30
  • Chapter 31
  • Chapter 32
  • Chapter 33
  • Chapter 34
  • Chapter 35
  • Chapter 36
  • Chapter 37
  • Chapter 38
  • Chapter 39
  • Chapter 40
  • Chapter 41
  • Chapter 42
  • Chapter 43
  • Chapter 44
  • Chapter 45
  • Chapter 46
  • Chapter 47
  • Chapter 48
  • Chapter 49
  • Chapter 50
  • Chapter 51
  • Chapter 52
  • Chapter 53
  • Chapter 54
  • Chapter 55
  • Chapter 56
  • Chapter 57
  • Chapter 58
  • Chapter 59
  • Chapter 60
  • Chapter 61
  • Chapter 62
  • Chapter 63
  • Chapter 64
  • Chapter 65
  • Chapter 66
  • Chapter 67
  • Chapter 68
  • Chapter 69
  • Chapter 70
  • Chapter 71
  • Chapter 72
  • Chapter 73
  • Chapter 74
  • Chapter 75
  • Chapter 76
  • Chapter 77
  • Chapter 78
  • Chapter 79
  • Chapter 80
  • Chapter 81
  • Chapter 82
  • Chapter 83
  • Epilogue
  • The Outsider Excerpt
  • Acknowledgments
  • About Authenticity
  • About the Author
  • An Invitation from the Publisher

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)

Systemvoraussetzungen:

Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.


Download (sofort verfügbar)

3,49 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen