Peace

A Sunday Times crime pick of the month
 
 
Viper (Verlag)
  • erschienen am 8. Oktober 2020
 
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-1-78283-699-5 (ISBN)
 

*** A SUNDAY TIMES CRIME PICK OF THE MONTH ***

'A scorchingly good novel' - MICHAEL ROBOTHAM

'Disher is the gold standard for rural noir' - CHRIS HAMMER

'An utterly compelling mystery with rare heart and humanity' - DERVLA MCTIERNAN
________________________________________

AN ACT OF INEXPLICABLE CRUELTY. A FAMILY DESTROYED.

Constable Paul Hirschhausen runs a one-cop station in the dry farming country south of the Flinders Ranges. He's still new in town but his community work - welfare checks and a light touch - is starting to pay off. Now Christmas is here and, apart from a grass fire, two boys stealing a vehicle, and Brenda Flann entering the front bar of the pub without exiting her car, Hirsch's life has been peaceful.

Until he's called to an incident on Kitchener Street, a strange and vicious attack that sickens the community. And when the Sydney police ask him to look in on a family living on a forgotten back road, it doesn't look like a season of goodwill at all...

A hugely atmospheric police procedural set in the dust of the Australian outback. Perfect for readers of Jane Harper, Chris Hammer and Dervla McTiernan.
________________________________________

'In this brilliant novel, Disher takes his readers on a harrowing journey' - JOCK SERONG

'An atmospheric and nail-biting novel by one of Australia's finest writers' -THE TIMES

'Disher is brilliant at rural noir, capturing the stifling atmosphere of a small town where resentments simmer' - SUNDAY TIMES

  • Englisch
  • Großbritannien
Profile Books Ltd
  • Reflowable
  • 0,92 MB
978-1-78283-699-5 (9781782836995)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
Garry Disher
'An atmospheric and nail-biting novel by one of Australia's finest writers. He deserves to be far better known and far more widely read' * The Times * 'Disher is brilliant at rural noir, capturing the stifling atmosphere of a small town where resentments simmer against the backdrop of an unforgiving landscape' * Sunday Times * 'An uplifting book, an utterly compelling mystery with rare heart and humanity. If you enjoyed Jane Harper's The Lost Man, this novel is for you' -- Dervla McTiernan 'Disher is the gold standard for rural noir' -- Chris Hammer 'A scorchingly good novel' -- Michael Robotham 'In this brilliant novel Disher takes his readers on a harrowing journey' -- Jock Serong 'The stories are complex without being complicated, the writing pared down yet run with rich seams of character and place. The Hirsch novels are Disher's finest work' -- Dominic Nolan, author of <i>After Dark</i> 'In prose baked as hard as the sun-scorched outback, Disher summons up the muggy oppressiveness of a small town with years of buried secrets, a veteran crime writer who knows how to expertly tie together the disparate threads of his narrative' * Herald * 'Peter Temple and Garry Disher will be identified as the crime writers who redefined Australian crime fiction' * Sydney Morning Herald * 'Peace is a very impressive piece of crime fiction. There has been a lot of fuss about Australian rural noir in recent years, but few, if any, do it better than Disher' * Canberra Weekly * 'Peace is rural noir at its best' * Canberra Times * 'Relevant, fresh and exciting. Peace is a satisfying complex mystery that reflects on family, corruption, big city violence seeping into the country, deep rooted racism, rural isolation and decline. The story is vivid, brutal and fast paced' * Crime Time * 'The great thing about these books is their sheer believability and attention to detail. Hirsch himself is a fine creation. [An] immersive and addictive book' * Crime Fiction Lover *

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)

Systemvoraussetzungen:

Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.


Download (sofort verfügbar)

6,49 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen