Friday Black

Stories
 
 
Mariner Books (Verlag)
  • erschienen am 23. Oktober 2018
  • |
  • 192 Seiten
 
E-Book | ePUB mit Adobe-DRM | Systemvoraussetzungen
978-1-328-91513-9 (ISBN)
 
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER';An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice.' Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review';An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny.' George Saunders';Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book.' Roxane GayA National Book Foundation ';5 Under 35' honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead Winner of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award Finalist for the National Book Critics Circles John Leonard Award for Best First BookA piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In ';The Finkelstein Five,' Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In ';Zimmer Land,' we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And ';FridayBlack' and ';How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King' show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders,FridayBlackconfronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.
  • Englisch
  • Boston
  • |
  • USA
HMH Books
  • 2,72 MB
978-1-328-91513-9 (9781328915139)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt

NANA KWAME ADJEI-BRENYAH has an MFA from Syracuse University. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in numerous publications, including Guernica, Printer's Row, and Breakwater Review, where ZZ Packer awarded him the Breakwater Review Fiction Prize.

  • Front Cover
  • Front Flap
  • Front Matter
  • Reviews
  • Title
  • Copyright
  • Dedication
  • Epigraph
  • Contents
  • The Finkelstein 5
  • Things My Mother Said
  • The Era
  • Lark Street
  • The Hospital Where
  • Zimmer Land
  • Friday Black
  • The Lion & the Spider
  • Light Spitter
  • How to Sell a Jacket as Told by IceKing
  • In Retail
  • Through the Flash
  • Back Matter
  • Acknowledgments and Love
  • Back Flap
  • Back Cover
  • Spine

Dateiformat: ePUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM (Digital Rights Management)

Systemvoraussetzungen:

Computer (Windows; MacOS X; Linux): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose Software Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

Tablet/Smartphone (Android; iOS): Installieren Sie bereits vor dem Download die kostenlose App Adobe Digital Editions (siehe E-Book Hilfe).

E-Book-Reader: Bookeen, Kobo, Pocketbook, Sony, Tolino u.v.a.m. (nicht Kindle)

Das Dateiformat ePUB ist sehr gut für Romane und Sachbücher geeignet - also für "fließenden" Text ohne komplexes Layout. Bei E-Readern oder Smartphones passt sich der Zeilen- und Seitenumbruch automatisch den kleinen Displays an. Mit Adobe-DRM wird hier ein "harter" Kopierschutz verwendet. Wenn die notwendigen Voraussetzungen nicht vorliegen, können Sie das E-Book leider nicht öffnen. Daher müssen Sie bereits vor dem Download Ihre Lese-Hardware vorbereiten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Verwendung der Lese-Software Adobe Digital Editions: wir empfehlen Ihnen unbedingt nach Installation der Lese-Software diese mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe-ID zu autorisieren!

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer E-Book Hilfe.


Download (sofort verfügbar)

17,99 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.
Download / Einzel-Lizenz
ePUB mit Adobe-DRM
siehe Systemvoraussetzungen
E-Book bestellen