The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

 
 
Tinder Press
  • erschienen am 8. Februar 2018
 
  • Buch
  • |
  • Softcover
  • |
  • 485 Seiten
978-1-4722-3438-4 (ISBN)
 
Tapping into the zeitgeist for dramatic, tough and female-focused fiction, comes a brilliant new novel about a father who tries to protect his daughter from the legacy of his criminal past. Will appeal to fans of Emma Cline's "The Girls" and "True Grit" by the Coen Brothers.
  • Englisch
  • London
  • |
  • Großbritannien
Headline Publishing Group
  • Paperback
  • Höhe: 197 mm
  • |
  • Breite: 128 mm
  • |
  • Dicke: 35 mm
  • 342 gr
978-1-4722-3438-4 (9781472234384)
1472234383 (1472234383)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
Hannah Tinti grew up in Salem, Massachusetts and has worked as a writer, editor and teacher. She is the author of the short story collection ANIMAL CRACKERS and co-founder and editor-in-chief of One Story magazine. Her first novel, THE GOOD THIEF, was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year, winner of the Centre for Fiction's First Novel Prize and a recipient of the American Library Association's Alex Award. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.
If you like to be challenged and you love writing that is subtly brilliant, and you enjoy a story that is unexpected, complex and unsettling, then you should put this coming-of-age tale on your to-read pile * NZ Womens Weekly * Tinti's second novel is a determinedly literary thriller about a father trying to shake off his criminal past and his daughter's need for answers about her mother's death * Weekend Herald * Pacy and violent, poignant and sensitive * Daily Mail, Best Reads for the Beach * The rapid-fire switching between the story lines gives the book an irresistible velocity that Ms. Tinti sustains to the end * Wall Street Journal Europe * This father-daughter story is an unusual but winning blend of small-town New England atmosphere and high-octane action scenes. Imagine a John Irving novel getting the Hollywood shoot-'em-up treatment and you'll have some idea of what Tinti does in this unexpectedly dark book full of quirky characters * The Bookbag * Their relationship is sharply drawn in this violent, tender tale * Woman & Home * It was the innovative storytelling and wonderful character of Loo, the schoolgirl on a mission to uncover the secret of her mother's mysterious death and decode the twelve scars that mark her ex-con father's body, that hooked me -- Sam Baker * The Pool * An inventive and fearless story about heroism and protecting the people we love * Culture Fly * Beautifully constructed... Tinti has fused a cowboy-noir action adventure and a coming-of-age tale into a father-daughter love story * Boston Globe * A master class in literary suspense * The Washington Post * Utterly magnificent - gripping, suspenseful, funny, and so full of heart -- Ruth Ozeki A father/daughter road trip you won't soon forget -- Richard Russo Hannah Tinti's second novel doesn't disappoint...Sensitive, coming-of-age literary novel meets Pulp Fiction and it all works? Yes, indeed! * Daily Mail * The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley is one part Quentin Tarantino, one part Scheherazade , and twelve parts wild innovation. Hannah Tinti proves herself to be an old fashioned storyteller of the highest order -- Ann Patchett What Hannah Tinti knows about fathers, daughters and time could, as they say, fill a book - and truly does. The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley is bold, exciting, and original -- Meg Wolitzer, author of THE INTERESTINGS Exceptional... a tender work of art exposing the universal needs of men to survive, to love, and grieve - whether their fate is cast in stars, or submerged beneath the surface... a sure-fire hit with characters I came to love. -- Essie Fox Starring a fiercely loving, reluctant criminal and a girl of grit and wonder, Tinti has forged a breathtaking novel of violence and tenderness * Booklist * [We are] carried by Tinti's seductive prose. She has a deep feeling for the passage of time and its effect on character. And when it's appropriate, she can use her vivid language to express the ripping depth of human pain. As this strikingly symphonic novel enters its last movement, the final bars remind us that all of the painful wounds that humans can endure, the worse are self-inflicted. * New York Times Book Review *

Sofort lieferbar

10,97 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.
in den Warenkorb

Abholung vor Ort? Sehr gerne!
Unsere Web-Seiten verwenden Cookies. Mit der Nutzung dieser Web-Seiten erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen finden Sie in unserem Datenschutzhinweis. Ok