Sorabji: A Critical Celebration

Routledge (Verlag)
  • 1. Auflage
  • |
  • erschienen am 30. August 2017
  • Buch
  • |
  • Softcover
  • |
  • 528 Seiten
978-1-138-26050-4 (ISBN)
Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji (1892-1988) was an unusual legend in his own lifetime: a Parsi composer and critic living in England whose compositions are of such length and difficulty that he felt compelled to ban public performances of them. This book, the first devoted to Sorabji, explores his life and character, his music, his articles and letters. It both presents the legend accurately and dispels its exaggerated aspects. The portrait which emerges is not of a crank or eccentric but of a highly original and accomplished musical thinker whom recent performances and recordings confirm as unique and important. Most of the contributors knew Sorabji personally. They have all written about or performed his music, gaining international recognition for their work. Generous quotation of Sorabji's published and unpublished music and prose assists in bringing him and his work strikingly to life. The book also contains the most complete and accurate register of his work ever published.
  • Englisch
  • London
  • |
  • Großbritannien
Taylor & Francis Ltd
  • Für höhere Schule und Studium
  • Höhe: 234 mm
  • |
  • Breite: 156 mm
  • 703 gr
978-1-138-26050-4 (9781138260504)
1138260509 (1138260509)
weitere Ausgaben werden ermittelt
Contents: List of Illustrations; Part One, Discovery; Why Sorabji?, Paul Rapoport; Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji: An Introduction, Alistair Hinton; Sorabji: A Continuation, Paul Rapoport; A Few Recollections and Ruminations, Frank Holliday; "Could you just send me a list of his works?" Paul Rapoport; Part Two, The Prose; Sorabji's Letters to Heseltine, Kenneth Derus; Sorabji's Music Criticism, Nazlin Bhimani; Sorabji's Other Writings, Paul Rapoport; Part Three, The Music; Sorabji's Piano Music, Michael Habermann; Performing Opus clavicembalisticum - Geoffrey Douglas Madge with Paul Rapoport; Splendour upon Splendour: On Hearing Sorabji Play, Frank Holliday; Un tessuto d'esecuzioni: A Register of Performances of Sorabji's Works, Marc-André Roberge; Perigraph - To Remember Sorabji's Music: A Short Conclusion - Kenneth Derus; Appendix 1 - The Texts of Sorabji's Vocal Music, Paul Rapoport; Appendix 2 - The Recordings of Sorabji's Music - Paul Rapoport; Appendix 3 - The Sorabji Music Archive, Alistair Hinton; Bibliography; Index of Sorabji's Compositions; General Index.

Versand in 15-20 Tagen

41,64 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.
in den Warenkorb

Abholung vor Ort? Sehr gerne!
Unsere Web-Seiten verwenden Cookies. Mit der Nutzung dieser Web-Seiten erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen finden Sie in unserem Datenschutzhinweis. Ok