Abbildung von: Memory and Desire - 451 Editions

Memory and Desire

Val Mulkerns(Autor*in)
451 Editions (Verlag)
Erschienen am 11. Mai 2016
218 Seiten
978-0-9931443-1-8 (ISBN)
14,70 €inkl. 7% MwSt.
Versand in 3-4 Wochen
This new collection brings together a selection of Val Mulkerns' short fiction from three collections, Antiquities (André Deutsch, 1978), An Idle Woman, (Poolbeg Press, 1980) and A Friend of Don Juan (John Murray, 1988). The stories take us from the cell of a rebel prisoner in 1916 through hard times in Dublin of the 1930s, the changing world of Ireland in the 60s and 70s and finally the eponymous 'Memory and Desire,' a quintessential tale of the 80s. Irish author Colm Tóibín described the title story as "one of the finest short stories that has been published in Ireland for many years". Sebastian Barry has described Val Mulkerns as "a masterly writer in the tradition of Seán Ó Faoláin" and Booker Prize winner Anne Enright has said about the collection: "When writing is this accurate, this good, it does not fade." In her Irish Times review of the work, Enright continued: "it is remarkable how these stories, published between 1978 and 1988, consistently point to things we pretended, in those days, not to know." The collection, often taking in characters largely ignored by Irish fiction writers, provides a keen and compelling glimpse of Irish society with prose that Sebastian Barry also called, "beautiful stories so composed they border on a very special Mulkernsian wildness."
Höhe: 216 mm
Breite: 140 mm
Dicke: 13 mm
317 gr
978-0-9931443-1-8 (9780993144318)
Schweitzer Klassifikation
Thema Klassifikation
DNB DDC Sachgruppen
BIC 2 Klassifikation
BISAC Klassifikation
Val Mulkerns is a noted Irish writer and member of Aosdána (Irish National Association of Artists). Her first novel, 'A Time Outworn', was released to critical acclaim in Ireland in 1952. She later worked as a journalist and columnist and is often heard on the radio. She is the author of five novels, three collections of short stories, two children's books and many published essays and critical writings. A third edition of her novel 'The Summerhouse' was published in 2013, and a new collection of Val's short fiction, 'Memory and Desire,' will be published in Spring 2016. She lives in Dublin, Ireland.