Franz Schubert

The Complete Songs
Yale University Press
  • erschienen am 24. Oktober 2014
  • Buch
  • |
  • Hardcover
  • |
  • 3000 Seiten
978-0-300-11267-2 (ISBN)
A three-volume boxed set focusing on Franz Schubert's vocal music with piano. It contains more than seven hundred song commentaries with parallel text and translations, detailed annotations on the songs' poetic sources, and biographies of one hundred and twenty poets, as well as general articles on accompaniment, tonality, singers, and more.
  • Englisch
  • USA
600 black-&-white illustrations
  • Höhe: 264 mm
  • |
  • Breite: 182 mm
  • |
  • Dicke: 177 mm
  • 5813 gr
978-0-300-11267-2 (9780300112672)
Graham Johnson is Senior Professor of Accompaniment at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama in London, and plays for recitals around the world.
Winner of the 2016 Oldman Prize of the International Association of Music Libraries. -- Oldman Prize * International Association of Music Libraries * "An encyclopedic overview that should become the definitive reference work . . . His enthusiasm comes through in vivid, lucid writing."-Anthony Tommasini, The New York Times -- Anthony Tommasini * The New York Times * "This is the book on the subject-the best written, longest and most informative. The product of a lifetime's work, it will be a lifelong companion... provides not only a commentary on each of the 650-odd songs, but also wide-ranging essays on a variety of subjects placed in their cultural and historical context, together with excellent illustrations. It really is the definitive treatment of the German-speaking world at its musical and literary apogee."-Jonathan Gaisman, Spectator -- Jonathan Gaisman * Spectator * "Piano lovers will be grateful that Lieder scholar and accompanist extraordinaire Graham Johnson, the man responsible for the marathon undertaking of recording Schubert's complete Lieder for Hyperion Records, has further expanded his lengthy booklet notes for that series into three friendly, chatty tomes."-Benjamin Ivry, International Piano -- Benjamin Ivry * International Piano * Shortlisted in the 'Creative Communication' category for the 2014 RPS Music Awards -- RPS Music Awards * RPS Music * "Known for his lengthy and scholarly booklet notes for the Schubert edition, [Graham Johnson] has now taken the material, expanded and rewritten it, and produced what will surely stand as one of the great modern monuments of practical musicology, his vast three-volume encyclopedia, handsomely published by Yale University Press."-Ian Bostridge, The New York Review of Books -- Ian Bostridge * The New York Review of Books * "The three-volume set is, by a wide margin, the definitive work on Schubert's vocal music with piano. It is also easy to navigate, entertaining, and readable, at one stroke the indispensable reference for singers, pianists, musicologists, lovers of music in general, and fans of Schubert in particular."-Rodney Punt, Classical Voice North America -- Rodney Punt * Classical Voice America * "Indispensible . . . very, very hard to put down."-Matthew Gurewitsch, The Wall Street Journal -- Matthew Gurewitsch * The Wall Street Journal *

Sofort lieferbar

295,32 €
inkl. 5% MwSt.
in den Warenkorb