John Cage's Concert for Piano and Orchestra

Oxford University Press Inc
  • erscheint ca. am 16. Juni 2020
  • Buch
  • |
  • Hardcover
  • |
  • 480 Seiten
978-0-19-093847-5 (ISBN)
Looking at one of the twentieth century's most notorious musical masterpieces, John Cage's Concert for Piano and Orchestra examines Cage's compositional process, its infamous performance history, and its influence on philosophical ideas of what music actually is.
  • Englisch
  • New York
  • |
  • USA
  • Für Beruf und Forschung
  • Höhe: 235 mm
  • |
  • Breite: 156 mm
978-0-19-093847-5 (9780190938475)
Martin Iddon is Professor of Music and Aesthetics at the University of Leeds. His musicological research largely focuses on post-war music in Germany and the United States. He is the author of New Music at Darmstadt and John Cage and David Tudor: Correspondence on Interpretation and Performance. Philip Thomas is Professor of Performance at the University of Huddersfield. He specializes in performing experimental notated and improvised music, and is the co-editor of Changing the System: The Music of Christian Wolff.
A monumental achievement - in considering Cage's watershed Concert with respect to historical context, sketch study and compositional realization, and performance as well as interpretation, Martin Iddon and Philip Thomas have produced a milestone in Cage scholarship. * Rob Haskins, Professor and Chair, Department of Music, University of New Hampshire * This extraordinary book gives John Cage's monumental Concert for Piano and Orchestra the "full treatment." Iddon and Thomas examine Cage's revolutionary indeterminate score from multiple perspectives in a virtuoso synthesis of criticism, performance practice, music analysis, sketch studies, and reception history. That a single work has inspired such a massive, multidimensional study vividly demonstrates that the incendiary music of a notorious agent
provocateur has now entered the musical mainstream. * David W. Bernstein, Mills College, Oakland,CA *

Noch nicht erschienen

58,53 €
inkl. 7% MwSt.