Catch the Rabbit

Picador (Verlag)
  • erscheint ca. am 27. Mai 2021
  • Buch
  • |
  • Softcover
  • |
  • 272 Seiten
978-1-5290-3961-0 (ISBN)
'Lewis Carroll meets Elena Ferrante in a Balkanized Wonderland'
Jasmina Vrbavac

Sara hasn't seen or heard from Lejla in years. She's comfortable with her life in Dublin, with her partner, their avocado plant, and their naturist neighbour. But when Lejla calls and demands she come home to Bosnia, Sara finds that she can't say no.

What begins as a road trip becomes a journey through the past, as the two women set off to find Armin, Lejla's brother who disappeared towards the end of the Bosnian War. Presumed dead by everyone else, only Lejla and Sara believed Armin was still alive.

Confronted with the limits of memory, Sara is forced to reconsider the things she thought she understood as a girl: the best friend she loved, the first experiences they shared, but also the social and religious lines that separated them, that brought them such different lives.

In Catch the Rabbit, Lana Bastasic tells the story of how we place the ones we love on pedestals, and then wait for them to fall off, how loss marks us indelibly, and how the traumas of war echo down the years.
  • Englisch
  • London
  • |
  • Großbritannien
Pan Macmillan
  • Broschur/Paperback
  • Höhe: 234 mm
  • |
  • Breite: 153 mm
978-1-5290-3961-0 (9781529039610)

Lana Bastasic is a Yugoslav-born writer who lives and works in Belgrade. She has published two collections of short stories and one of poetry. Catch the Rabbit, her first novel, was published in 2018 in Belgrade and was shortlisted for the NIN Award. Her short stories have been included in major regional anthologies and have won numerous awards throughout the former Yugoslavia. She was awarded the European Union Prize for Literature for Catch the Rabbit in 2020.
Lana Bastasic . . . possesses a truly authentic narrative voice. Her storytelling is both mature and energetic, and she has set a very high literary standard with this first novel. -- Dubravka Ugresic

Noch nicht erschienen

Preis leider unbekannt